Science Work Placement Course

UNSW Science Work Placement course (SCIF3199; previously coded SCIF2199) gives you the opportunity to gain genuine work experience in a science or technology-related workplace via an internship.

The internship is a core component of SCIF3199, alongside professional development assessments. These are designed to help you prepare for a professional work environment. SCIF3199 is credited towards your science program as a science or free elective. Internships must be related to your major of study. SCIF3199 is offered in all academic terms, including summer.

Eligibility

To apply for SCIF3199, you need to have:

  • completed a minimum of 48 units of credit
  • a credit WAM (65 or above)
  • space in your program for a science or free elective.

 

IMPORTANT!

Students must have their internship approved and enrolment finalised before their internship starts. 

Students must also meet the standard UNSW enrolment deadlines

 

What Happens in an Internship?

The SCIF3199 internship involves a work placement of a minimum of 105 hours (three weeks full-time or spread out part-time across a term) in a single organisation.

You’ll be working as an intern while gaining experience of the science and technology-related work conducted in that organisation. 

You build on your existing skills, with guidance from a work placement supervisor.

You need to contribute productively to a project or series of activities set up by the organisation.

Your participation in the internship will enable you to gain experience while observing the way an organisation works. You'll understand its structure and how projects and teams are arranged to achieve their goals.

What Sort of Work Do Interns Do?

The nature of your work experience depends on the organisation you’re placed with.

Interns may spend time shadowing members of staff in science-related roles, contributing in an assisting capacity to a range of activities.

As an intern, you may be asked to be a team member on a project for the duration of the internship. It may be an ongoing project, or one that is completed during the internship.

Interns may be assigned to an individual project that can be completed within the hours of the placement.

Specific tasks may be largely office-based, including:

  • literature searches
  • data entry
  • preparation of figures for presentation
  • marketing materials.

There may be also opportunities for:

  • hands-on laboratory work
  • field-based activities.

Online Induction Modules

Before you start your work placement, you’ll complete compulsory induction online modules that will prepare you for the placement.

You’ll also be supported and monitored by a course coordinator, in addition to your allocated supervisor at your host organisation.

School Contacts

School of Aviation Ian Douglas ian.douglas@unsw.edu.au
School of BABS Noel Whitaker n.whitaker@unsw.edu.au
School of BEES Scott Mooney s.mooney@unsw.edu.au
School of Chemistry Jason Harper j.harper@unsw.edu.au
School of Materials Owen Standard o.standard@unsw.edu.au
School of Mathematics John Steele j.steele@unsw.edu.au
School of Physics Susan Coppersmith s.coppersmith@unsw.edu.au
School of Medical Science Richard Vickery richard.vickery@unsw.edu.au