The Science Learning & Teaching Unit

Who are we?

The Science Learning & Teaching Unit was formed in 2003 in response to the need for a group of people to coordinate, facilitate and drive educational policy and initiatives within the Faculty. The Science Learning & Teaching Unit (formerly known as EdSquad) acts as a bridge for communication between academics, support staff and the Dean. We regularly collaborate with Learning & Teaching @ UNSW and the Associate Deans (Education) from the other Faculties at UNSW to pilot and implement major educational projects whilst ensuring initiatives are in line with Faculty and University policy and priorities.

For general enquiries regarding the activities of the SLTU, email us at

Current members of the unit

Deputy Dean (Education)

Associate Professor Janelle Wheat

9385 6792



Iona Reid

9385 8223


Education Project Officer

Dr. Pejhman Keshvardoust

9385 8221


Project Officer

Dr. Jane Paton

9385 5277


Educational Developer (TELT)

Dr. Toni Ferrara

9385 7312



What we do: Current Projects & Activities

  • Faculty of Science Peer Mentoring Program
  • Science Courses Digital Uplift
  • Science Projects under the 2025 Scientia Educational Experience Initiatives
  • Peer Mentoring Training
  • Talented Students Program
  • Annual Academic Program Review
  • Networks
  • Science Technology Enabled Learning Management (TELT)
  • Technology Enabled Learning & Teaching Committees and Projects
  • Teaching Evaluation Pilots
  • Scholarships
  • UNSW Science Learning and Teaching Grants Administration
  • Academic Policy and Procedure Implementation
  • Course and Teaching Evaluation - CATEI & MyExperience
  • UNSW myAccess pilot (


Where are we:

Room 175, Level 1
Old Main Building
Kensington Campus, UNSW