Science

The Science Learning & Teaching Unit

Who are we?

The Science Learning & Teaching Unit was formed in 2003 in response to the need for a group of people to coordinate, facilitate and drive educational policy and initiatives within the Faculty. The Science Learning & Teaching Unit (formerly known as EdSquad) acts as a bridge for communication between academics, support staff and the Dean. We regularly collaborate with Learning & Teaching @ UNSW and the Associate Deans (Education) from the other Faculties at UNSW to pilot and implement major educational projects whilst ensuring initiatives are in line with Faculty and University policy and priorities.

For general enquiries regarding the activities of the SLTU, email us at sltu@unsw.edu.au.


Current members of the unit

Deputy Dean (Education)

Associate Professor Janelle Wheat

9385 0752

j.wheat@unsw.edu.au

 

Manager

Iona Reid

9385 8223

i.reid@unsw.edu.au

 

Academic Quality Coordinator

Dr Pejhman Keshvardoust

9385 8221

pejhman@unsw.edu.au

 

Project Officer (Education)

Divya Jacob

9385 8221

j.divya@unsw.edu.au

 

Education Strategy Officer

Steven Yannoulatos

9385 2724

s.yannoulatos@unsw.edu.au

Project Officer

Herman Hau

9385 5277

h.hau@unsw.edu.au

 

Educational Developer (TELT)

Dr Toni Ferrara

9385 7312

t.ferrara@unsw.edu.au

 


What we do: Current Projects & Activities

  • Faculty of Science Peer Mentoring Program
  • Science Courses Digital Uplift
  • Transition of programs and courses in the Faculty of Science to the UNSW 3+ calendar
  • Science Projects under the 2025 Scientia Educational Experience Initiatives
  • Peer Mentoring Training
  • Talented Students Program
  • Annual Academic Program Review
  • Networks
  • Science Technology Enabled Learning Management (TELT)
  • Technology Enabled Learning & Teaching Committees and Projects
  • Teaching Evaluation Pilots
  • Scholarships
  • UNSW Science Learning and Teaching Grants Administration
  • Academic Policy and Procedure Implementation
  • Course and Teaching Evaluation - MyExperience
  • UNSW myAccess pilot (https://www.myaccess.unsw.edu.au/)

 

Where are we:

Room 175, Level 1
Old Main Building
Kensington Campus, UNSW