UNSW wins three Scientist of Year awards

Professor Aibing Yu
Friday, 17 September, 2010
Bob Beale

The quality and peadth of UNSW's research talent has been recognised with three wins at the NSW Scientist of the Year awards for new insights into dementia, climate change and industrial chemistry.

The awards are the State’s most prestigious science prizes, rewarding "creative, high-calibre research that brings benefits to the State’s economy, environment and people", said the Minister for Science and Medical Research, Ms Jodi McKay, when the awards were presented at a ceremony in Sydney on Wednesday night.

Professor Aibing Yu, of the UNSW School of Materials Science and Engineering, won the Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Sciences Category. Professor Yu is a global leader in particle/powder technology and process engineering. He has made many significant contributions and is recognised as an authority in the areas of particle packing, particulate and multiphase processing and simulation and modelling.

Professor Andy Pitman and Dr Melanie Bishop were named joint winners of the Environment, Water and Climate Change Sciences category.

Professor Pitman is co-director of the UNSW Climate Change Research Centre and leads the new Australian Research Council (ARC) Centre of Excellence for Climate System Science, which provides detailed science essential for improved regional projections of changes in climate extremes across NSW. Dr Bishop is a Macquarie University ecologist working on coastal conservation issues and climate risk.

Professor Perminder Sachdev, of the UNSW School of Psychiatry, was the winner of the Biomedical Sciences Category. Professor Sachdev’s research is in the areas of vascular dementia, Alzheimer’s disease, dementia of Lewy body type and other dementias, neuropsychiatric aspects of dementia and treatment of various neurological conditions.

The overall winner was Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte, of the University of Sydney, a global leader in robotics research who leads the ARC Centre of Excellence for Autonomous Systems.

Media contact:

Bob Beale - 0411 705 435 -