UNSW stands out in Eureka Prize line-up

Tuesday, 31 July, 2012
Bob Beale

In subject areas as diverse as preventing drownings at the beach and understanding the cosmos, six Faculty of Science researchers have been singled out as finalists for next month’s prestigious Eureka Prizes ceremony. The university as a whole has finalists in five categories.

Two Faculty researchers are vying in the same category for the Australian Government Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Australian Science Research, awarded to a research scientist who has effectively communicated their research outcomes to the public:

·         Dr Rob Brander has been shortlisted for his “The Science of the Surf” program, which has significantly improved the understanding of the science of surf hazards, undoubtedly saving lives as a result.

·         Professor Rob Brooks, who heads the UNSW Ecology and Evolution Research Centre, is a leading authority on sex and evolution, and a prolific commentator, author and speaker.

In the University of New South Wales Eureka Prize for Scientific Research category - awarded to a for outstanding curiosity-driven scientific research – are shortlisted Professor John Webb, Professor Victor Flambaum, Dr Julian King and Dr Julian Berengut, along with  Associate Professor Michael Murphy, Swinburne University of Technology. Their research focuses on understanding whether the laws of nature depend on space or time.