Black elected to top ISCU post

Professor David Black
Wednesday, 5 October, 2011
Bob Beale

One of the Faculty's most senior and distinguished chemistry academics, Professor David Black, has been honoured with election to the post of Secretary General of the International Council for Science (ICSU).

ICSU is a non-government organisation with a global membership of national scientific bodies and International Scientific Unions, which aims to strengthen science globally for the benefit of all humankind. It plans and coordinates interdisciplinary research to address major issues of relevance to both science and society.

Professor Black was elected Secretary General of ICSU at the Council’s 30th General Assembly in Rome. The position is for three years, effective immediately. Fittingly, 2011 is the International Year of Chemistry.

The President of the Australian Academy of Science, Professor Suzanne Cory, welcomed the appointment.

“Professor Black brings to the position a wealth of experience and an extensive international network,” Professor Cory said.

“I am confident that as Secretary General of ICSU he will continue to be a wonderful advocate for Australian science and global science.”

In 2011 Professor Black was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science for his innovative research in organic chemistry and exemplary leadership in science diplomacy for Australian and world chemistry.

Professor Black was born in 1938, obtained his PhD at Cambridge University and was appointed to the Chair of Organic Chemistry UNSW in 1983.

He has served as President of the Royal Australian Chemistry Institute (RACI) and as Secretary General of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC).

The Head of the UNSW School of Chemistry, Professor Barbara Messerle, has congratulated Professor Black on his election: "It is a great honour and well-deserved recognition for the work David does promoting chemistry and science internationally.”

Other award winners from the School in 2011 include Professor Les Field, who was made a Member of the Order of Australia, Emeritus Professor  Ian Dance , who was awarded the 2011 David Craig Medal of the Australian Academy of Science, and Professor Justin Gooding, who was awarded a Scientia Professorship, the highest recognition of research excellence for academic staff at UNSW.

Media contact:

Bob Beale 0411 705 435