Academy honours three Faculty researchers

Aibing Yu - photo: Peter Morris
Thursday, 24 March, 2011
Bob Beale

Three researchers from the Faculty of Science have been honoured by being elected to the Australian Academy of Science,

Among 17 new Fellows elected nationally to the Academy for 2011 were Professor David Black (UNSW School of Chemistry), Scientia Professor Staffan Kjelleberg (UNSW School of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences) and Scientia Professor Aibing Yu (UNSW School of Department of Materials Science and Engineering).

Election to the Australian Academy of Science recognises a career that has significantly advanced, and continues to advance, the world’s scientific knowledge.

Academy President Professor Suzanne Cory warmly welcomed the new Fellows: "I congratulate all of our new Fellows on their stellar scientific achievements and this well-deserved recognition," she said.

"I look forward to welcoming them at our annual Science at the Shine Dome event in Canberra this May, during which they will speak about their research."

The citation notes that Professor Black is "distinguished for his innovative research in organic chemistry and exemplary leadership in science diplomacy for Australian and world chemistry, fostering broad and inclusive interactions worldwide".

Professor Kjelleberg is "distinguished for his work in microbial ecology, including bacterial adaptive responses and biofilm biology".

Professor Yu is "distinguished for his work in particle science and technology, including methods to simulate and model the motion of individual particles within large populations in flowing systems".

Media contacts:
Australian Academy of Science - Mona Akbari (02) 6201 9452
UNSW Faculty of Science – Bob Beale 0411 705 435