2012 Faculty of Science staff excellence awards

Best lecturer as voted by students: Professor Michael Archer
Thursday, 20 December, 2012

The UNSW Faculty of Science has celebrated the outstanding contributions made by its staff during 2012, with staff excellence awards handed out by the Dean, Professor Merlin Crossley.

This year, for the first time, undergraduate students were asked to vote for the lecturer they regarded as the best to have taught them during the year.

The inaugural award went to Professor Michael Archer, from the School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences.

Professor Archer is well known for leading research into the extraordinary Riversleigh fossil deposits in Queensland.

Professor Crossley said that taking the students’ views into account was an important new initiative. “In this way we recognise the talent and commitment of our top staff," he said.

Milan Pahor, of the School of Mathematics and Statistics, won an Excellence in Teaching Award. Mr Pahor has also been very popular with students, even inspiring a Facebook fan page named the Milan Pahor Appreciation Society, which has attracted more than 420 members.

The award for Excellence in Early Career Research went to Dr Michael Kasumovic, of the School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences.

Dr Kasumovic is an evolutionary biologist who studies the innate differences between males and females. Although his work tends to focus on spiders and insects, he is also interested in human behaviour, and how this can be altered by changing environments.

Full list of staff excellence awards:

Professor Michael Archer, Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Best Lecturer (as voted by students)

Milan Pahor, Mathematics and Statistics, Excellence in Teaching

Dr Anne Galea, Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences, Excellence in Teaching

Associate Professor Nagarajan Valanoor, Materials Science and Engineering, Excellence in Teaching and Research

Dr Michael Kasumovic, Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Excellence in Early Career Research

Luke Vu, Psychology, Excellence in Sessional Teaching

Vladimir Dzuba, Physics, Outstanding Technical Support to Research

Caroline Hueston, Matthew Hunt, Carmen Robinson, Jonathan Russell, Kerrie Whalan, BSB Office, Excellent Student Administration Services.