Environmental Management

The Bachelor of Environmental Management is a degree which looks to find the answers to a sustainable existence, offering you strong education in the skills and knowledge necessary to work or carry out research as an Environmental Scientist.

The Bachelor of Environmental Management contains a core sequence of compulsory courses, a choice of majors, options from a group of prescribed electives, free electives and general education.





Single Degree Structure

When taken as a single degree, the Bachelor of Environmental Management is made up of 24 courses, taken over 3 years:

Dual Degree Structure

When taken as a dual degree, the Bachelor of Environmental Management is made up of 20 courses, taken concurrently with the ‘other’ degree. Students in a dual degree do not take General Education courses or Free Electives:

Compulsory First Year Courses

There are a number of compulsory courses in the Bachelor of Environmental Management, some of which need to be taken in first year.

First year compulsory courses:

Important: not all of these are offered in every term; see the online timetable to check when they are offered.


Choosing Other Courses

When choosing your other courses, we recommend taking science courses that interest you:

1. Look at the list of majors available in your degree (see below)
2. Eliminate the majors you are definitely not interested in
3. Look at the courses required for the majors you are interested in
4. Choose first year courses common to the majors that interest you. That way, you’ll be keeping your options open.

You can also choose Free Electives (any course at UNSW, including science), General Education courses (any non-science course at UNSW), or a Prescribed Elective.

Prescribed electives are listed on the 3965 Bachelor of Environmental Management program page in the Online Handbook.



Remember: you usually don't declare your major until you start Stage 2 courses.

The following links provide a snapshot of all the courses in each of the majors available in this degree.

The UNSW Online Handbook provides more details and descriptions for each course.

Take a note of the Stage 1 courses that sound interesting to you.

(Hint: the first number of a Stage 1 course will be a '1' e.g. MATH1041)



After you have chosen which courses you want to take, check the online timetable to see when they're offered before enrolling via myUNSW.




 A program at UNSW is your degree and will have a four-digit program code (e.g. 3970 Bachelor of Science). 


 A major is a defined sequence of study within a program (e.g. Bachelor of Science with a Major in Chemistry). In some programs, it's possible to do more than one major. 


 All programs and majors at UNSW are made up of courses. Courses are like subjects at school. Each course has a course code (e.g. CHEM1011) and usually involves lectures, tutorials and labs. In Science there are five types of courses: 


   Core Courses are compulsory courses that must be taken for a program or major. 
   Science Electives are courses that start with the codes listed on Table 1. 
   Free Electives are courses that may be taken from Science or another Faculty. 
   Recommended Electives are not compulsory but are considered good complimentary courses for a program or major. 
   General Education Courses are courses that must be taken from outside the Faculty of Science (i.e. no courses listed on Table 1 can count as General Education). 


 Science Schools   
There are a number of schools within each Faculty which teach the courses in their area of expertise. In Science, there are nine schools: 
  • Aviation
  • Biological, Earth & Environmental Sciences (BEES)
  • Biotechnology & Biomolecular Sciences (BABS)
  • Chemistry
  • Materials Science & Engineering
  • Mathematics & Statistics
  • Optometry & Vision Science
  • Physics
  • Psychology
 The School of Medical Science (which is part of the Faculty of Medicine) also teaches many courses in Science. 


 Units of Credit (UoC)   
 Courses, majors and programs at UNSW are measured in Units of Credit (UoC). Most courses in Science are worth 6 UoC each, and a full-time load is 18 UoC per term (i.e. 3 x courses) or 48 UoC per year (8 x courses). 


 A prerequisite is a course that must be taken before you can enrol in another course. A co-requisite is a course that must be taken at the same time as another course. 


 Assumed Knowledge   
 Assumed Knowledge is the level of understanding you are expected to have before taking a course. Nobody will check that you have the correct level of assumed knowledge, but you will be at a disadvantage if you don't. 
 Bridging Courses are available if you don’t have sufficient assumed knowledge for the course you want to take.