Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing


The Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing was established in 2012 to recognise excellence in Australian science writing. 

The annual prize of $7000 is awarded to the best short non-fiction piece of science writing aimed at a general audience. Two runners up are awarded $1500 each. 

The UNSW Bragg Student Prize for Science Writing is an initiative of UNSW Press, UNSW Science and Refraction Media, and is designed to encourage and celebrate the next generation of science writers, researchers and leaders, with prize vouchers of $500 and $250 for the winner and two runners-up.

The prize is named in honour of Australia’s first Nobel Laureates, father and son team William Henry Bragg and William Lawrence Bragg.

The prize is supported by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund. 

An associated anthology, The Best Australian Science Writing (NewSouth Publishing) collects the best of the year’s science writing.


2016 Winner & Runners Up

Ashley Hay
Winner for The Forest at the Edge of Time

Susan Double

Runner Up for Beautiful contrivances

Fiona McMillan

Runner Up for Lucy’s lullaby: Song for the ages


2016 Student Winner & Runners Up

Marissa Petrakis

Year 10 Meriden School winner for From here to the stars: discovering supernovae

Gemma Macauley-Black

Year 8 Frensham runner up for Can you hear me?

Chelsy Teng

Year 9 James Ruse Agricultural High School runner up for An innovative instrument: the scanning tunnelling microscope


2015 Winner & Runners Up

Christine Kenneally

Winner for The past may not make you feel any better

Idan Ben-Barak
Runner Up for Why aren't we dead yet?

Trent Dalton
Runner Up for Beating the odds


2015 Inaugural Student Winner & Runners Up

Jessica Kitchen

Winner for A pendulum conundrum
Holly Reid

Runner Up for Lighting up the universe: what a flame test reveals

Priya Soni
Runner Up for X-rays - superpowers brought to life


2014 Winner & Runners Up

Jo Chandler
Winner for TB and me: A medical souvenir

Frank Bowden
Runner Up for Eleven grams of trouble

Peter Meredith
Runner Up for Weathering the storm


2013 Winner & Runners Up

Professor Fred Watson
Winner for Here come the ubernerds: Planets, Pluto and Prague

Professor Chris Turney
Runner Up for Martyrs to Gondwanaland: The cost of scientific exploration 

Gina Perry
Runner Up for Beyond the shock machine


2016 Winner & Runners Up

Jo Chandler
Winner for Storm front

Ashley Hay
Runner Up for The Aussie Mozzie Posse

Peter McAllister
Runner Up for The Evolution of the Inadequate Modern Male




Ashley Hay and Professor Fiona Stanley 
(Image: Matthew Vasilescu)



Idan Ben-Barak, Trent Dalton & Bianca Nogrady

Priya Soni, Professor Ian Jacobs & Jessica Kitchen



Jo Chandler and David Gonski AC



Professor The Honourable Dame Marie Bashir AD, CVO & Professor Fred Watson



L-R: Elizabeth Finkel, Professor Merlin Crossley, Jane McCredie, Professor Ian Chubb AC, Ashley Hay, Peter McAllister and Kathy Bail.

Elizabeth Finkel & Professor Ian Chubb AC