The Scientia Fellowship Scheme

The Scientia Fellowship Program, established as a cornerstone of the UNSW 2025 Strategy, aims to attract and retain the highest research performers on a trajectory to being exceptional research leaders and mentors. Fellowship appointments will be made at academic levels A to C in 2017.

UNSW 2025 Strategy has a firm commitment to a just society and aspires to being an international exemplar in equity, diversity and inclusion. In pursuit of this goal, the Scientia Fellowship Program will embed diversity in appointment practices to ensure appropriate gender representation, cultural diversity and disciplinary expertise.


  • This scheme is open to internal and external candidates. This is either,
    • Internal continuing, fixed term or casual UNSW staff; or
    • Not currently in paid employment at UNSW.
  • Applicants must hold a PhD at the time of application.

Application Process 2016

Applications must be made via UNSW’s online Portal at

Applicants are required to consult with the Head of School (or other nominated contact persons - see below) in a relevant School prior to lodging an application. Applicants can only lodge an application once they have received confirmation of School approval for them to apply, and should initiate this contact well in advance of the application closing date by sending the contact person a CV, list of publications, and statement of research interests and a research plan as a Scientia Fellow.

Applications must be complete by the 31 October 2016 closing date in order to apply for the 2017 Fellowship round.  Please refer to the Scientia Fellowship Program page for more details on the application process.

Letters of Reference

Applicants applying through UNSW Science should also arrange to have letters sent by two referees named in the application to Professor Chris Tinney, Associate Dean Research, UNSW Science, by the 31 October 2016 closing date . 

Professor Jason Middleton
Biotechology and Biomolecular Sciences
Kylie Jones

Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences
Professor David Cohen
Professor Scott Kable

Mathematics and Statistics
Professor Bruce Henry
Materials Science and Engineering
Professor Paul Munroe

Optometry and Vision Science
Professor Fiona Stapleton

Professor Sven Rogge

Professor Simon Killcross




Science research areas of focus for 2017 Fellowship round

Research Area

Detailed Research Area

Fundamental and Enabling SciencesAstronomy, Exoplanetary and Planetary Sciences
Theoretical Physics of Atomic and Condensed Matter Systems
Catalysis and Industry
Applied Mathematics: Dynamics, Optimisation, and Computation
Pure Mathematics: Algebra, Graphs, Number Theory, and Analysis
Statistics: Data Science, Applications, Analysis and Methods
Cognition, Decision Sciences and Learning
Biomedical SciencesEnvironmental Microbiology
Molecular Medicine
Systems and Cellular Biology
Medicinal Chemistry
Marine Bio-Innovation
Neuroscience and Mental Health
Vision Science, Eye Health and Disease
Contact Lenses and Myopia Control
Environment, Water and SustainabilityExtreme Weather and Climate Change
Ecosystems Science
Sustainable Materials
Airborne research for environmental planning and sustainability
Next Generation Materials and TechnologiesNanoscience
Quantum Information, Matter and Technologies
Physics of Nanoscale Systems and Spin-based Phenomena
Functional Materials
Advanced Metal and Ceramic Materials
Polymers and Composites
Energy & Environment
Biocompatible Implants
New transport technologies
Government and Health PolicyClinical, Health and Forensic Psychology
Care pathways and care quality in eye health
Road, Aviation and Transport Safety